Throwing away old school stuff

Out of all the decluttering I’ve done so far, I find throwing away schoolwork to be the most thought provoking. Reading old notes, essays and textbooks brings me right back to that time in my life and resurrects old memories I thought were long forgotten.

It’s encouraging to see how far I’ve come since my old schooldays, but it is also moderately dismaying to see that I’ve actually regressed in some ways. My old math homework looks like a foreign language to me now. But really, does anyone who is not a mathematician remember how to do calculus a few years after taking it?

If I discard these writings, will it mean that those school time memories are discarded with them? Am I okay with that? Or do I want to revisit my past every once in a while, and to do so, will I need to keep my schoolwork to jog my memory?

Questions, questions, questions. It’s almost as if I’m back in school.

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “Throwing away old school stuff

  1. Keep a few at least. It’s fun years down the road (and I mean decades, at least for me!) to reread some of the things you wrote when you were younger and realize “Wow! I don’t even remember thinking that, but I had some pretty impressive stuff to say!”

Leave a Comment

